Switchfoot performs Dark Horses on Jimmy Kimmel!

I am beyond ready for some new Switchfoot. I really feel like this last record Hello Hurricane put Switchfoot back on the map. I think when they went independent, they had some time to regroup, reconfigure, and really get a fresh start. I’ve read some interviews that said the new VV record will be a lot different from anything else Switchfoot has done. Jon mentioned that the album will be a lot more bass and rhythm driven than guitar and will contain some spoken word. The label released a press statement shedding some light into the new record.

“Vice Verses is a record of tension and release. It’s an attempt to describe the polarity of the human experience. The sunlight and shadow. The highs and lows, laughter and pain, hope and fear, doubts and belief,” says lead singer/guitarist Jon Foreman. In title track he writes; ‘Every blessing comes with a set of curses. I got my vices. I got my vice verses.’ So we live in the tension – pulled and stretched thin. Vice Verses is soul music – attempting to get to the heart of the human experience: Living in the tension and turning it into song.”

Vice Verses is the work of a band that is so restless, they devote an entire song (“Restless”) to the condition. It’s that very uneasiness – an unwillingness to choose the treadmill over the triathlon – that fuels the band’s forays into new musical territory and Jon Foreman’s unflinchingly honest lyrics. You can hear the tension build along with the first chords of album opener “Afterlife,” leading into a bold statement of intent: “I’ve tasted fire I’m ready to come alive/I can’t just shut it up and fake that I’m alright/I’m ready now/I’m not waiting for the afterlife….I believe we start forever now.”

Songs like “Afterlife” and “The War Inside” take the harder-edged approach of Hello Hurricane a step further, creating what Billboard has called “powerful, anthemic rockers…like an amalgamation of U2′s ‘Achtung Baby,’ Linkin Park.” Overall, Vice Verses is a more eclectic collection than its predecessor with quiet gems like “Souvenirs” and the title track butting up against the infectious “The Original,” reminiscent of Foo Fighters, and the biting, largely spoken-word “Selling the News.” The latter is a poetry slam Beck-meets-Beastie Boys style examination of a media-mad nation: “America listens the story is told/the hard sell, all caps, all bold…begging the question mongering fears/stroking the eye and tickling ears/the truth ain’t just what it appears/we’re selling the news.”

I am working on a review of Vice Verses and that will be released next Tuesday along with my interview with Tim Foreman, but below is the track listening from VV.

1. Afterlife
2. The Original
3. The War Inside
4. Restless
5. Blinding Light
6. Selling the News
7. Thrive
8. Dark Horses
9. Souvenirs
10. Rise Above It
11. Vice Verses
12. Where I Belong

What do you think?

What are you looking forward to most with this new record?

Do you think it will be as good as Hello Hurricane?

Were you surprised by the fact that they took a new route with their sound?

What questions do you want answered from my interview with Tim?

*Update* ESPN is streaming the entire new album from Switchfoot on their site.


  1. [...] Jon Foreman is a man I admire not only because of his honest music, but also his dedication to various non-profits including Stand Up For Kids. To date Switchfoot has put out 7 full length records with the 8th (Vice Verses) set to release September 27th of this year. I recently had a chance to chat with Jon Foreman about the new record Vice Verses, Bro-Am, the new Switchfoot single. To date there has been so much info published about the new record Vice Verses so instead of focusing the entire interview I felt I could catch up readers with info already published and then tread new territory with Jon. To see all the details and track listing about the new record and check out this previous blog I wrote. [...]

  2. Stream the new Switchfoot record, plus the dudes are playing on Jimmy Kimmel tonight!

  3. Victoria L Campbell says:

    I want! I loved Hello Hurricane and am looking forward to a fresher face of Switchfoot!